Welcome to Holmes Community College Libraries: Health Sciences Pathway
Discover our Resources!
Career and Test Prep
PrepStep - Build basic workplace skills and prepare for occupational and/or standardized tests.
Occupational Outlook Handbook - career information from the Bureau of Labor Statistics
PurposeGames - science, math, history, etc. games for trivia or study
Job and Career Accelerator - Build a resume and find a job or internship.
Fun to Type - games to improve keyboarding/typing skills
Working on a Paper?
Visit or contact the Writing Center!
Location: McDaniel Hall 25
Contact: goodmanwritingcenter@holmescc.edu
Working on a Paper?
Visit or contact the Writing Center!
Location: Main Building Room 210 (upstairs)
Contact
- Director: Casey Johnson
- 662.227.2335
- cajohnson@holmescc.edu
Faculty Services
- Quiet space to work
- Flexible Seating - Lounge Chairs - Table seating for individual or small group - Computer Seating
- Access to Computer and Printer Use of school supplies such as stapler, hole punch, tape, and pencil sharpener
Tutoring Services
The Writing Center provides access to student tutors and and English instructor to help with the following areas:
- Formatting
- Citations Idea
- Development
- Proof Reading
- Clarity of Writing Assignments
- Grammar Development
- Cohesiveness
- Canvas Submission
- And More!
Working on a Paper?
The Writing Center is Here to Help!
Write Here, Right Now!
Find us in Madison Hall 205 for assistance with any step of the writing process.
F2F or E-Tutoring: Monday and Wednesday: 9:30-1:00
F2F or E-Tutoring: Tuesday and Thursday: 9:30-11:30; 1:30-3:00
E-Tutoring Only: Friday: 9:00-11:00
Location: Madison Hall 205
Online Resources
Specialized Databases
- Nursing Core Collection - Films on Demand - Designed to help nursing students excel in their studies and pass licensure exams, but also to prepare them for long-term job success in an increasingly complex health care system.
- Academic Online Video (AVON) - A comprehensive video subscription spanning a wide range subject areas and publishers, and curated for educational experience.
- Nursing Reference Center Plus - Continuing Ed Courses included
- Ice Learning Center - International Clinical Educators PTA/OTA/Nursing Skills, Labs, and Videos (password ICE@HolmesCC)
- Inner Body - Human anatomy guide
- MedlinePlus - Comprehensive medical information from the National Institutes of Health (NIH)
- PsycINFO - Free resources from the American Psychological Association; register with Gmail account
- PubMed - PubMed® comprises more than 36 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
- Salem Press - Literature, History, and Health Reference
- US National Library of Medicine - free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature
General Databases
- EBSCOhost Databases - research databases, e-journals, magazines, ebooks, etc.
- JSTOR - academic journal storage
- Magnolia Databases - Mississippi Alliance for Gaining New Opportunities through Library Information Access (magn0112)
- Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) - access to materials from libraries, museums, archives, etc. from across the country
- Catalog of U.S. Government Publications - National Bibliography of U.S. Government Publications
- Google Scholar - open source (free) articles and ebooks
- National Archives Catalog - access to the U.S. National Archives and Records Administration
- Open Library - millions of free print-disabled ebooks prior to 1923
- Overdrive - audiobook and ebook library
- US Census Bureau - population demographics, statistics, and geographical information of the United States
Additional Resources
Physical Materials
~3,400 holdings in relevant call number ranges across all campuses
Relevant Call Number Ranges: 610s, 790, 796-7
Need Help with Citations?
Visit the Purdue Online Writing Lab for research, writing, and citation guides.
Additional links, tips, and tools can be found in our General Library Resources Guide under Citation and Writing Information.