Welcome to Holmes Community College Libraries: Nursing

ADN Application Process and Requirements

ADN Admissions Policy

ADN Progression Statement

Specialized Databases

• Nursing Core Collection - Films on Demand - Designed to help nursing students excel in their studies and pass licensure exams, but also to prepare them for long-term job success in an increasingly complex health care system.
• Academic Online Video (AVON) - A comprehensive video subscription spanning a wide range subject areas and publishers, and curated for educational experience.
• Nursing Reference Center Plus - Continuing Ed Courses included
• Ice Learning Center - International Clinical Educators PTA/OTA/Nursing Skills, Labs, and Videos (password ICE@HolmesCC)
• Inner Body - Human anatomy guide
• MedlinePlus - Comprehensive medical information from the National Institutes of Health (NIH)
• PsycINFO - Free resources from the American Psychological Association; register with Gmail account
• PubMed - PubMed® comprises more than 36 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
• Salem Press - Literature, History, and Health Reference
• US National Library of Medicine - free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature

General Databases

• EBSCOhost Databases - research databases, e-journals, magazines, ebooks, etc.
• JSTOR - academic journal storage
• Magnolia Databases - Mississippi Alliance for Gaining New Opportunities through Library Information Access (magn0112)
• Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) - access to materials from libraries, museums, archives, etc. from across the country
• Catalog of U.S. Government Publications - National Bibliography of U.S. Government Publications
• Google Scholar - open source (free) articles and ebooks
• National Archives Catalog - access to the U.S. National Archives and Records Administration
• Open Library - millions of free print-disabled ebooks prior to 1923
• Overdrive - audiobook and ebook library
• US Census Bureau - population demographics, statistics, and geographical information of the United States

Additional Resources

• Merck Manuals Professional Videos
• Centers for Disease Control - Nutrition
• United States Department of Agriculture - Nutrition
• American Society for Nutrition

Holmes CC Associate Degree Nursing

Day Track

Evening/Weekend Track

The mission of Holmes Community College Associate Degree Nursing Program (HCCADNP) reflects those of the college. The nursing program is designed to advance the overall purpose of the college by providing educational opportunities to qualified students for a career in nursing. The purpose/mission of the HCCADNP is two-fold:

1. To prepare registered nurse generalists who have attained competency for productive employment. Competency is identified as a performance standard, which includes knowledge, abilities, and understanding that goes beyond specific tasks and is guided by commitment to ethical and scientific principles of nursing practice.

2. To provide equal access to higher education for traditional and nontraditional students while promoting excellence in all areas of nursing.