Welcome to Holmes Community College Libraries: Public Safety/Social & Behavioral Science Pathway

PrepStep - Build basic workplace skills and prepare for occupational and/or standardized tests.

Occupational Outlook Handbook - career information from the Bureau of Labor Statistics

PurposeGames - science, math, history, etc. games for trivia or study

Job and Career Accelerator - Build a resume and find a job or internship.

Fun to Type - games to improve keyboarding/typing skills

Specialized Databases

• PsycINFO - free resources from the American Psychological Association; register with Gmail account

• Issues & Controversies - pro/con articles about hotly debated topics; additional tools and resources about plagiarism, analyzing historical documents, citing sources, etc

• Points of View Reference Center - overview, history, modern examples, and related links for special issues (presenting both sides of each argument)

• SIRS Researcher - articles, resources, and analyses on current events and hot topics from different points of vie

General Databases

• EBSCOhost Databases - research databases, e-journals, magazines, ebooks, etc.

• JSTOR - academic journal storage

• Magnolia Databases - Mississippi Alliance for Gaining New Opportunities through Library Information Access (magn0112)

• American Sociological Association - ASA’s mission is to serve sociologists in their work, advance sociology as a science and profession, and promote the contributions and use of sociology to society.

• Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) - access to materials from libraries, museums, archives, etc. from across the country

• Catalog of U.S. Government Publications - National Bibliography of U.S. Government Publications

• Google Scholar - open source (free) articles and ebooks

• National Archives Catalog - U.S. National Archives and Records Administration

• Open Library - millions of free print-disabled ebooks prior to 1923

• Overdrive - audiobook and ebook library

• US Census Bureau - population demographics, statistics, and geographical information of the United States

~5,600 holdings in relevant call number ranges across all campuses

Relevant Call Number Ranges: 150s, 300s, 321, 339, 360s, 640s, 910s

Dewey Decimal System Breakdown