Welcome to Holmes Community College Libraries: Online Dictionaries

Collins Dictionary

Collins online dictionary and reference resources draw on the wealth of reliable and authoritative information about language, thanks to the extensive use of our corpora - vast databases of language - both in English and in other languages. These databases allow experienced Collins lexicographers to analyze how language is really used and monitor how language changes around the world. With the benefit of these corpora, our language specialists can be sure that they reflect accurate and authentic language throughout Collins dictionary and reference titles.

Lorousse

Bilingual dictionaries

Merriam-Webster

No other dictionary matches M-W's accuracy and scholarship in defining word meanings. Our pronunciation help, synonyms, usage and grammar tips set the standard. Go beyond dictionary lookups with Word of the Day, facts and observations on language, lookup trends, and wordplay from the editors at Merriam-Webster Dictionary.

Oxford English Dictionary

An unsurpassed guide for researchers in any discipline to the meaning, history, and usage of over 500,000 words and phrases across the English-speaking world.

Spanish: Diccionario de la lengua española

El Diccionario de la lengua española es la obra lexicográfica académica por excelencia.

Word Reference

Free online dictionaries - Spanish, French, Italian, German and more. Conjugations, audio pronunciations and forums for your questions.

General knowledge

Catalan

• Gran Enciclopèdia Catalana – Catalan-language encyclopedia, started in fascicles, and published in 1968 by Edicions 62 [ca]

• Encyclopedia of China
• Complete Classics Collection of Ancient China – Chinese language encyclopedia completed in 1725 (10 million Chinese characters)
• Yongle Encyclopedia – once contained 11,095 volumes and around 370 million Chinese characters but now contains less than 400 volumes

• Riegrův slovník naučný – first Czech encyclopedia published in 1860–1874 with 11 volumes, supplement vol. in 1890, online)
• Otto's encyclopedia – largest Czech-language encyclopedia published between 1888 and 1908 (28 vols) and 1930–1943 (12 vols, incomplete). Volumes 1–28 online
• Příruční slovník naučný – first post-war encyclopedia. With strong communist ideology. Four volumes, 1962–1967.
• Malá československá encklopedie – Small Czechoslovak encyclopedia, it was supposed to be forerunner to Great Czechoslovak encyclopedia that was never published, 6 volumes, 1984–1987.
• Diderot (8 volumes, 1999–2000)
• Universum (10 volumes, 1999–2001)
• Czech Wikipedia (2002–)

• Den Store Danske Encyklopædi

• Winkler Prins – published in print between 1870 and 1993 and made available digitally to the present day
• Oosthoek – published between 1907 and 1981
• Christelijke Encyclopedie – published between 1926 and 2005
• Eerste Nederlandse Systematisch Ingerichte Encyclopaedie – published between 1946 and 1952
• Standaard Encyclopedie – published between 1969 and 1974 by Standaard Uitgeverij Antwerpen
• Grote Nederlandse Larousse Encyclopedie – published between 1971 and 1979
• Grote Spectrum Encyclopedie – published between 1974 and 1980

• Academic American Encyclopedia – 21-volume work published in 1980, also issued by Grolier under the names Barnes & Noble New American Encyclopedia, Global International Encyclopedia, Grolier Academic Encyclopedia, Grolier International Encyclopedia, Lexicon Universal Encyclopedia, and Macmillan Family Encyclopedia
• Chambers's Encyclopaedia – published in 1859 by W. Chambers and R. Chambers
• The Children's Encyclopedia – by Arthur Mee, published 1908–64 in the UK and in the US starting in 1910 as Grolier's The Book of Knowledge
• Children's Illustrated Encyclopedia – published by Dorling Kindersley
• Collier's Encyclopedia
• Columbia Encyclopedia – one-volume encyclopedia from Columbia University Press last published in 2000
• The Complete Compendium of Universal Knowledge (1891)
• Compton's Encyclopedia – 26-volume encyclopedia
• Compton's Interactive Encyclopedia
• Cyclopædia, or an Universal Dictionary of Arts and Sciences – 1728 publication by Ephraim Chambers
• Dobson's Encyclopædia – first encyclopedia printed in the United States, but mostly a reprint of the Encyclopædia Britannica Third Edition
• Edinburgh Encyclopædia – 18 volumes printed and published by William Blackwood and edited by David Brewster between 1808 and 1830
• Encyclopædia Britannica – one of the best-known encyclopedias in English, online-only since 2010
• Encyclopædia Britannica Ultimate Reference Suite – DVD version of Encyclopædia Britannica
• Encyclopædia Metropolitana – 39 volumes in 59 parts published between 1817 and 1845
• Encyclopedia Americana – both a print work and currently a part of Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia
• English Cyclopaedia – 23 volumes, published 1854–1862
• English Encyclopaedia – 10 volumes, published in 1802
• Everybody's Enquire Within – illustrated book of miscellaneous knowledge issued in weekly instalments from 1937 to 1938
• Everyman's Encyclopaedia – published by Joseph Dent from 1913 as part of the Everyman's Library
• Everything2 – collaborative Web-based database of interlinked user-submitted articles
• Funk & Wagnalls Standard Encyclopedia – first published in 1912; changed its name to Funk & Wagnalls New Standard Encyclopedia in 1931
• Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia – electronic encyclopedia published by Grolier
• Groliers Encyclopedia
• Harmsworth's Universal Encyclopaedia – edited by John Alexander Hammerton and published 1921–22
• Hutchinson Encyclopedia – single-volume work first published in 1948
• New American Cyclopedia – 16 volumes published between 1857 and 1866
• Nupedia – peer reviewed, open content online encyclopedia project, currently inactive
• Open Site – effort inspired by, but not officially affiliated with, the Open Directory Project
• Oracle Encyclopædia – five-volume encyclopedia published in 1895
• An Outline of Modern Knowledge – published in 1931 by Victor Gollancz
• Pears Cyclopaedia – one-volume encyclopaedia published annually in the United Kingdom
• Probert Encyclopaedia – online topical encyclopedia consisting of almost 100,000 short entries, published by Mathew Probert and based in the United Kingdom
• World Book Encyclopedia – designed for family use; the world's best selling print encyclopedia

• Découvertes Gallimard – illustrated encyclopaedia in pocket format, 588 volumes plus 150⁺ volumes of spin-offs, published 1986–present
• Encyclopédie, ou dictionnaire raisonné des sciences, des arts et des métiers – contributed by the Encyclopédistes, edited by Denis Diderot and Jean le Rond d'Alembert, published 1751–1772

• Allgemeine Encyclopädie der Wissenschaften und Künste – very large, unfinished 19th-century encyclopaedia by Ersch and Gruber in 167 volumes
• Brockhaus Enzyklopädie – best-known encyclopedia in German, online-only since 2014
• Grosses vollständiges Universal-Lexicon – huge 18th-century encyclopedia by Johann Heinrich Zedler
• Meyers Konversations-Lexikon
• Oeconomische Encyclopädie – Started by Johann Georg Krünitz in 1773 and finished 1858 in 242 volumes

• Treccani – also known as Enciclopedia Italiana di Scienze, Lettere ed Arti

• Lexicon Universale – published in 1698

• The Book of Healing – 30-volume Persian-language encyclopedia published by Avicenna (Persian: ابن سینا) in 1027 (Arabic: کتاب الشفاء Kitāb al-Šifāʾ, Latin: Sufficientia)
• The Persian Encyclopedia (Persian: دایرةالمعارف فارسی) – three-volume encyclopedia edited by Gholamhossein Mosahab, partially based on the early editions of the Columbia Encyclopedia

• Nowe Ateny – published in 1745–1746
• Universal Encyclopedia – 1859, 28 volumes, Orgelbrand
• Wielka Encyklopedia Powszechna PWN – 1962–1970, 13 volumes, PWN
• Wielka Encyklopedia PWN – 2001–2005, 31 volumes, PWN

• Infopédia [pt] – since 2003
• Barsa – since 1964
• Diciopédia [pt] – 1997–2009
• Enciclopédia Verbo Luso-Brasileira de Cultura – Edição Século XXI [pt] (Verbo Luso-Brazilian Encyclopædia of Culture – 21st-Century Edition) – 1998–2009
• Grande Enciclopédia Portuguesa e Brasileira (Grand Portuguese and Brazilian Encyclopædia) – 1936–1999
• Grande Enciclopédia Larousse Cultural [pt] (Grand Cultural Encyclopædia Larousse) – 1998
• Enciclopédia Luso-Brasileira de Cultura [pt] (Luso-Brazilian Encyclopædia of Culture) – 1963–1995
• Lello Universal – Dicionário Enciclopédico Luso-Brasileiro (Lello Universal – Luso-Brazilian Encyclopædic Dictionary)
• Conhecer (To Know) – 1966–1981, adapted from Knowledge
• Enciclopédia Mirador Internacional [pt] (International Mirador Encyclopædia) – 1976
• Enciclopédia Infantil Verbo [pt] ( Verbo Children's Encyclopædia) – 1976
• Grande Enciclopédia Delta Larousse (Delta Larousse Grand Emcyclopædia) – 1970, adapted from the Grand Larousse encyclopédique
• Focus – Enciclopédia Internacional (Focus – International Encyclopædia) – 1964
• Enciclopédia Delta Larousse (Delta Larousse Encyclopædia) – 1960, adapted from the Encyclopédie Larousse méthodique
• Trópico – Enciclopédia Ilustrada em Cores [pt] (Trópico – Colour Illustrated Encyclopædia) – 1957
• Enciclopédia Brasileira Globo [pt] (Globo Brazilian Encyclopædia) – 1943
• Tesouro da Juventude (Youth's Thesaurus) – 1920, adapted from The Children's Encyclopædia

• Brockhaus and Efron – imperial encyclopedia in 86 volumes
• Great Soviet Encyclopedia (Большая Советская Энциклопедия) – second largest and most comprehensive encyclopedia in Russian; there were three editions; the third edition of 1969–78 contains 30 volumes
• Great Russian Encyclopedia – universal Russian encyclopedia, completed in 36 volumes (2004–2017)

• Slovenský náučný slovník. 3 volumes 1932. First general encyclopedia in Slovak language.
• Pyramída. Published between 1971 and 1990 in journal form (224 issues).
• Malá slovenská encyklopédia. 1 volume 1993
• Encyclopaedia Beliana. 20 planned volumes, 1999–, 9 volumes published as of 2021
• Všeobecný encyklopedický slovník. 2002, four volumes
• Slovak Wikipedia. 2003–
• Univerzum – všeobecná obrazová encyklopédia A – Ž. 1 volume, 2011

• Enciklopedija Slovenije

• Enciclopedia Libre Universal (also known as Enciclopedia Libre) – project to create a Spanish encyclopedia using wiki software, released under the GFDL
• Enciclopedia universal ilustrada europeo-americana – largest encyclopedia of its time; also known as Enciclopedia Espasa o Enciclopedia Espasa-Calpe

• Nationalencyklopedin – encyclopedia in Swedish
• Susning.nu – project to create a Swedish-language encyclopedia using wiki software; an anyone-can-edit encyclopedia until 2004; shut down in 2009

• Anabritannica – published in Turkey and based on the Britannica Micropædia

• Ukrainian Soviet Encyclopedia (Українська радянська енциклопедія) – encyclopedia in Ukrainian; its first edition was 17 volumes

• Microsoft Encarta – computer-based encyclopedia published by Microsoft, now discontinued
• Wikipedia – world's largest free encyclopedia; a project to create a comprehensive encyclopedia using wiki software

Australia

• Australian Encyclopaedia (1925, 1958, 1977, 1983, 1988, 1996)

• aeiou Encyclopedia (1996ff.)

• Banglapedia – 10 volumes published in 2003; bilingual; English and Bengali

• Enciclopédia das línguas Arawak [pt] – 2020
• Enciclopédia Itaú Cultural de Arte e Cultura Brasileiras [pt] – 2001
• História Geral da Civilização Brasileira [pt] – 1960–2010
• Saga - A Grande História do Brasil [pt] – 1981
• Enciclopédia dos Municípios Piauienses [pt] – 1972
• Grandes Personagens da Nossa História [pt] – 1969
• Enciclopédia dos Municípios Brasileiros [pt] – 1957

• The Canadian Encyclopedia (1985 and 1988)

• Hrvatska opća enciklopedija (started in 1999 – 7th vol. 2005 of 11)

• Encyclopaedia Aethiopica – basic reference work for Ethiopian and Eritrean studies

• Deutsche Biographie (Biographical dictionary of Germans)

• Icelandic Encyclopedia A–Ö

• Encyclopædia Iranica – on Iranian peoples and Persia
• Encyclopaedia Islamica
• Encyclopaedia of Imam Ali
• The Encyclopedia of Iranian Old Music – published in Tehran, 2000
• Encyclopaedia of Persian Language and Literature – published by the Academy of Persian Language and Literature in Persian in Tehran
• Encyclopaedia of Shia

• Dizionario Biografico degli Italiani (Biographical dictionary of Italians) – Istituto dell'Enciclopedia Italiana

• The Encyclopedia of Malaysia – published from 1998 to 2007

• Maelimat al-maghrib (Arabic: معلمة المغرب) – published between 1989 and 2006 totaling 27 volumes.

• The Cyclopedia of New Zealand (1897–1908) – unofficial; most subjects paid to have their articles appear; online at the New Zealand Electronic Text Centre
• An Encyclopaedia of New Zealand (1966–) – official
• Te Ara: The Encyclopedia of New Zealand (2005–) – official, incorporating the full text of An Encyclopaedia of New Zealand

• Encyklopedia Polski (Encyclopedia of Poland) – 2005, 10 volumes

• Grande Dicionário Enciclopédico da Madeira [pt] (Grand Encyclopædic Dictionary of Madeira) – since 2016
• Enciclopédia Açoriana [pt] (Azorean Encyclopædia) – since 2008
• Elucidário Madeirense [pt] (Madeiran Glossary) – 1921–1940

• Encyklopédia Slovenska. (Encyclopedia of Slovakia) 6 volumes, 1977–1982.

• Enciklopedija Slovenije – published in 1987–2002

• Nordisk familjebok – encyclopedia in Swedish

• Encyclopedia of Ukraine – English five-volume version of the Encyclopedia of Ukrainian Studies
• Internet Encyclopedia of Ukraine – online version of the Encyclopedia of Ukraine^[1]
• Encyclopedia of Modern Ukraine – multi-volume comprehensive encyclopedia about Ukraine from the 20th and 21st centuries^[2]

• The London Encyclopaedia – 1007-page reference of the city of London; pub. 1983

• Encyclopedia of Chicago
• Encyclopedia of New Jersey
• The Encyclopedia of New York City
• Handbook of Texas

• Enciklopedija Jugoslavije
• Opća enciklopedija JLZ (1977–82)